Shopping Cart - $0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Are you tax exempt? Call 800-727-3480 to save!

Return to Previous Page


Be the first to review this product

Regular Price: $9.99

Special Price $6.99

Format: Paperback

Availability: In stock

Quick Overview:

When Rick lost the ability to run, he came
one step closer to becoming a hero.

When Rick lost the ability to run, he came one step closer to becoming a hero.

New High Score! New Record Time!

Rick nodded with grim satisfaction. He laid the game controller aside on the sofa and reached for his crutches.

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick’s life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom—and into the glowing video screen.

But Rick’s uncanny gaming skills have attracted attention. Dangerous attention. Government agents have uncovered a potentially devastating cyber-threat: a Russian genius has created a digital reality called the Realm, from which he can enter, control, and disrupt American computer systems . . . from transportation to defense. The agents want Rick, quick-thinking quarterback and gaming master, to enter the Realm and stop the madman—before he sends America into chaos.

Entering the Realm will give Rick what he thought he’d never have again: a body as strong and fast as it was before the accident. But this is no game, there are no extra lives, and what happens to Rick in the Realm happens to Rick’s body in reality.

Even after Rick agrees to help, he can’t shake the sense that he’s being kept in the dark. Why would a government agency act so aggressively? Can anyone inside the Realm be trusted? How many others have entered before him . . . and failed to return?

In the tradition of Ender’s Game and The Matrix, MindWar is a complex thriller about a seemingly ordinary teenager who discovers a hidden gift—a gift that could make him a hero . . . or cost him everything.

"Edgar Award–winning Klavan’s well-orchestrated fantasy thriller features . . . an imaginative mix of gaming action with real-life stakes. With just the right cliff-hanger ending, this trilogy opener shows promise." —Booklist

Contributor(s) Andrew Klavan
About the Contributor(s) Andrew Klavan

Andrew Klavan is an award-winning writer, screenwriter, and media commentator. An internationally bestselling novelist and two-time Edgar Award-winner, Klavan is also a contributing editor to City Journal, the magazine of the Manhattan Institute, and the host of a popular political podcast on His essays and op-eds on politics, religion, movies, and literature have appeared in the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, the Washington Post, the LA Times, and elsewhere. He lives in Southern California.


ISBN-10 1401688942
ISBN-13 9781401688943
Publish Date Mar 17, 2015
Weight (lbs) 1.1200
Height 8.50
Width 5.50
Length 336
Length Unit Pages
Publisher Thomas Nelson
Price $9.99
Series The MindWar Trilogy
Format Paperback
Language English
Accelerated Reader Interest Level MG+ (Grade 7 thru 9)
Accelerated Reader Points Awards 11.00
Accelerated Reader Reading Level 5.40

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

You may also be interested in the following product(s)